Help me out TLS!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which school should I pick? (Total COA)

UVA ($155K)
43%
Duke ($140K)
37%
UPenn ($215K)
11%
BU ($90K)
9%

Total votes: 65

bobbyh1919

Help me out TLS!

Postby bobbyh1919 » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:07 pm

Hey everybody, looking for some help here. I included the total cost of attendance in parentheses, but the scholarship offers (per year) were UVA=20K, Duke=22.5K, BU=30K if that helps. No real stipulations on any of them. I'm still waiting to hear from UPenn with regards to scholarship, so I will update and clear the poll if they make an offer. Wanted to do this now though as it's getting late in the cycle and I have a couple of deposit deadlines coming up. I also have a full ride at UConn but I'm guessing no one is going to bite at that.

A little bit about me: I'm going K-JD at this point and will almost surely be going to law school next fall. I have some legal work experience, but it's mostly been summer jobs as a file clerk at two different firms, one personal injury and the other real estate.

I'd like to get a firm job upon graduation, preferably in Jersey (my home all my life), Connecticut (home of my SO), or in NYC Big Law as that obviously pays the best and would be in the middle anyway. Would also be open to staying wherever I end up if I like the area and get a good offer. At this point NJ and CT would be the preferred destinations though, and I was hoping the reputation of whatever school I choose could assist me in landing a job in slumping markets.

So please let me know what you think the best option is, what option (if any) I should cross off, and if you think I have leverage to have any of these offers increased (they're all original offers). Thanks guys.

JusticeHarlan

Re: Help me out TLS!

Postby JusticeHarlan » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:13 pm

bobbyh1919 wrote:or in NYC Big Law as that obviously pays the best