Emory Law - To go or not to go...

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dandoe123

Emory Law - To go or not to go...

Postby dandoe123 » Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:42 pm

So here's my dilemma -

I was recently accepted to Emory Law with $60K scholarship. I figure I would probably need to borrow approximately $40K/year (including cost of living). I have an additional $30K in loan from undergrad and so, by the time I graduate from law school, I would have amassed about $150K in student loan. With all the bleak news the past several years regarding job prospects of Emory Law graduates (and the legal field in general), I'm wondering if going to Emory Law is a "good" financial decision.

I have a PhD in the biological sciences (Immunology) and would pursuit a career in patent law if I were to go to Emory Law. The alternative is continuing my postdoctoral training and look for either an academic or industry job in 2-4 years. Of course, the job market isn't all that much better in the sciences and the potential salary isn't nearly as impressive, but I obviously would not have to take out any substantial student loans.

I'd appreciate if anyone would like to share their opinion (either for or against Emory Law) regarding this matter. I'd also like to know how others are coping with the idea of being in such a significant debt when they graduate from law school (outside of T14 law schools).

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by dandoe123 on Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

timbs4339

Re: Emory Law - To go or not to go...

Postby timbs4339 » Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:51 pm

The fact you have a Ph.D changes the calculus significantly in your favor assuming you are patent bar eligible. It means biglaw firms will have lower cutoffs and will open a whole range of good-paying IP-only firms for you. However, it also means you have to do much more research and ask more questions.