Boalt (sticker ) v. UCLA (30K/yr)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
SaintFond

Boalt (sticker ) v. UCLA (30K/yr)

Postby SaintFond » Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:32 pm

That's the basic question. Conceivably I might still get some money from Boalt, but I am not counting on it.

First, some information about myself. Will probably be posting this around various law forums on the Internet, so I apologize if you have seen it before or will see it again.

I just turned 26, and I graduated UC Berkeley a couple years back with a degree in philosophy. Since then, I have been employed as a document clerk in a boutique law firm in San Francisco. For the first year or so, I found the work the attorneys (seemed) to be doing to be terribly boring and stultifying. But as of late, one of the attorneys has taken me under his wing, as it were, and kind of shown me what being an attorney in this field is like; I actually find it rather stimulating. Basically, I want to be a white collar office worker desk jockey who spends his time investigating/researching/writing. Also, as cliche as it sounds, I want to be a lawyer because I enjoy constructing (and winning) arguments. I know how much lawyers work because I haven seen it firsthand, but I am undaunted. I have no interest in marriage or children or the family life. At this point my background is in securities-class action, and that is probably what I would pursue after law school. I would prefer to live and work in CA.

I come from a pretty solid middle class background. I could probably receive some assistance from my parents, but I can't count on much. The bulk of my education would be paid through loans. I currently make ~30K a year with good benefits, but there is no room for advancement, as far as I know. If I don't go to law school, my only other option would probably be to find some other generalized office job with more room for advancement. I currently have no debt.