WashU, UNC, SMU, Ohio St, or Illinois?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which school? Cost after scholarship is comparable

WashU
29%
UNC
14%
SMU
57%
Ohio St.
No votes
Illinois
No votes

Total votes: 21

grizz20

WashU, UNC, SMU, Ohio St, or Illinois?

Postby grizz20 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 5:37 pm

I have a PhD in chemistry and want to pursue patent law.
Accepted with money to WashU, UNC, SMU, Ohio St, and Illinois. Not much difference in tuition cost after scholarship is accounted for.

Grew up in Texas; attended school in Texas and Wisconsin. Want to work, post-grad, in Texas.

I am having a terribly hard time figuring out which school to attend.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

bdole2

Re: WashU, UNC, SMU, Ohio St, or Illinois?

Postby bdole2 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:34 pm

grizz20 wrote:I have a PhD in chemistry and want to pursue patent law.
Accepted with money to WashU, UNC, SMU, Ohio St, and Illinois. Not much difference in tuition cost after scholarship is accounted for.

Grew up in Texas; attended school in Texas and Wisconsin. Want to work, post-grad, in Texas.

If you want to work in Texas...then go to the only school on your list that is actually in Texas. SMU

grizz20

Postby grizz20 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:44 pm

Appreciate the straight-shooting bdole2.

Where someone wants to work is the primary factor to choosing from the given list of law schools?

stratocophic

Postby stratocophic » Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:49 pm

grizz20 wrote:I have a PhD in chemistry and want to pursue patent law.

Your best bet is either WashU or SMU. Go to the cheaper one unless the COAs are within a few thousand of each other, in which case go to the one you feel fits you best.