Lawyer or IT consultant

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
buddyt

Lawyer or IT consultant

Postby buddyt » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:36 pm

I graduated from ASU in December summa cum laude with a BS in Computer Information Systems. Prior to graduation I was recruited by a large IT consulting firm. The firm has consistently blown away their yearly profit goals (most years by more than 20%) and we are on track to double the number of consultants at the Phoenix office this year alone. They currently have me contracted as a business analyst at a Fortune 500 pharmaceutical company.

It goes without saying that the same kind of growth isn't happening in the legal job market.

However, my whole life I have known I didn't want to do IT for a living. My job isn't miserable--I work 40-hour weeks, and making around $50k right out of college is great--but I can't see myself doing anything with computers indefinitely. The more I read about law school, and the more I talk to my brother and brother-in-law (both attorneys) the more it is something I want to pursue.

I have no debt. I would like to practice in the Phoenix market exclusively. I was accepted at ASU with a small scholarship. After PTing in the high 160s, my LSAT score was in the low 160s. ASU has said they usually have leftover scholarship money in the summer and will consider increasing my scholarship based on a June retake [edit: I would still be able to attend this fall and would not have to defer a year]. I will own a home soon so with roommates basically paying my mortgage I will have little living expenses (gas, food, etc).

I am torn between choosing a career as an IT consultant or as an attorney. Which one might be more intellectually stimulating/less monotonous? Which one offers the better dollars-per-stress ratio? At a future hypothetical salary of (as an example) $100k, which job will require more hours, more weekends to be worked, more time away from family...