deleted

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lightknives11

deleted

Postby lightknives11 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:47 pm

deleted
Last edited by lightknives11 on Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

rotel

Re: State of UC Irvine from a potential student

Postby rotel » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:43 am

I'm in a similar sort of situation (I started a thread deciding between a few schools including UCI). I visited the campus, talked to a lot of people at the school and in the area, and I've just read and thought a lot about this. (The inaugural law review was really interesting; if they sent it to you, I recommend you read it).

So I'm no expert, but here's my impression. I'm sorry if this ends up being longish.

You noted the big things. They were able to recruit an incredible founding faculty (Chemerinsky's article in the LR talks about how he solved the collective action problem of recruiting a top-tier faculty from scratch). This helped them recruit more top faculty from top schools. Not only are these professors powerhouses in terms of scholarly impact, but they're incredible teachers. They aimed to get top teachers who are also great scholars, not just great scholars. Every student I spoke to confirmed this. So that's big.

Then there's something that goes unnoticed I think. They hired great administrative people. As a visiting student, it's the first thing I noticed. The difference between the administators at UCI and the administrators at every other school I visited was night and day, and, again, it was something Chemerinsky and the founding faculty took seriously. It is also something the students confirmed again and again. The administration is really easy to work with.