Hastings vs Irvine for IP/Patent Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
LogicSalmon

Hastings vs Irvine for IP/Patent Law

Postby LogicSalmon » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:37 pm

I'll start off by saying what a great forum this is. It has given me a lot of support and stability in the craziness of the 0L ride.

I'm an Engineering undergraduate with a B.S. degree and I plan on getting my patent bar the summer after 0L. I hope to be practicing IP law within high tech industry. Among the schools I'm choosing, I am looking keenly at Hastings and Irvine. As a prospective IP/Patent attorney, I'm inclined to think that studying in NorCal would give me the best job prospects considering the Silicon Valley.

I'm intrigued by Irvine for the same reasons as the entire legal world is. Great faculty, great ratio, great location. If I were interested in Public Interest, I wouldn't hesitate. However, I've heard little to nothing about their IP program and Irvine and San Diego's biotech industry isn't particularly what I want to focus on.

Any advice on my choice? I should add that the price for both schools will be the same for me. Thanks!

hurldes

Re: Hastings vs Irvine for IP/Patent Law

Postby hurldes » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:52 pm

I had this same interest in UCI. I don't know much about Hastings. In emailing with lots of attorneys about my options coming out of UCI for patent law, I basically learned that law firms have high hopes for it... many anticipate that it will come in just under UCLA and USC in the rankings. But who knows..

What's your undergrad in? I'd say that you're in the same situation at either school. People will probably disagree with me, but my guess is that with a good engineering degree (EE, CompE, CS) you'll be in great shape if you are around the top third of your class at either UCI or UC Hastings... maybe lower.

Emu Flu

Postby Emu Flu » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:14 pm