Wake vs. UF for international student

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Wake Forest vs. UF

Wake Forest($30k scholar)
45%
UF($42k scholar)
55%

Total votes: 22

risingdragon

Wake vs. UF for international student

Postby risingdragon » Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:01 am

Well, such a poll is not new but my background is different from you guys more or less

You guys may say:"Oh, yeah, go to the cheaper one." or "go to the state you want to practice." And then contacts, reputation, weather will all come into discussion. The problem is that I am a foreigner from China. I grew up in the south so adapt to hot days w/ seeing the snow ever. Really don't know how to pick for there are so limited data focusing on foreigners.

So wise TLSers, please help, help, help me. I have no way to check out any schools. Please put down your reasons after you vote.

Thanks a lot!

AntipodeanPhil

Re: Wake vs. UF for international student

Postby AntipodeanPhil » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:51 am

When you say you grew up in "the south," I'm assuming you mean the south of China.

I'm also assuming the scholarship amounts you list are three-year totals.

Honestly, unless you have ties to Florida or North Carolina, you shouldn't go to either of those schools. It will be extremely hard to get a job from either without ties, especially if you are not a US citizen / permanent resident.

Also, to get a job in the US practicing the law, you need perfect English. A number of employers have said this on the legal employment forum. Your post suggests that you're still having trouble with English.

If I had to pick one of those schools, though, I'd pick Florida, since it's the best school in its state, and I imagine the Florida job market might be a little easier for foreigners.

risingdragon

Postby risingdragon » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:41 am

AntipodeanPhil wrote:When you say you grew up in "the south," I'm assuming you mean the south of China.