Public Interest at NYU vs. Columbia vs. Berkeley? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Rebeccalily

New

Public Interest at NYU vs. Columbia vs. Berkeley?

Post by Rebeccalily » Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:45 am

Hey everyone,

I know there's a thread very similar to this one already, but it's for BIGLAW, which doesn't interest me at all. I'm pretty new to TSL, but people here seem to know a lot more about these law schools than I do, and to offer solid advice or links to resources I didn't know about - and, like someone with a similar thread said, I feel like way too much of a douche trying to have this debate with my law-school-bound friends who are mostly staying in the PNW.

I KNOW that these are all amazing schools, and that I basically can't go wrong, but I don't know how much rankings matter for government / non-profit jobs and it's hard to tell how committed these schools are to public interest and how much of it is just fluff because they know potential students are all idealistic but will end up wanting the money and prestige.

Price / Scholarships would be a factor but, though I haven't gotten my aid packages for any of these schools yet, I'm expecting to have to pay full price for any of them. However, all three have really strong LRAP and I'm pretty committed to public interest (currently work at a bigish firm and really don't want to do that with my life) so I think that I will end up being poor but ok.

I think I probably want to settle in the West Coast, but am not sure where I want to be for the next 5-10 years.

I'm visiting all these schools in the next month and a half, but want to be ready to look for the right things and ask the right questions when I go.

Any advice you all can offer would really be appreciated.

dixiecupdrinking

Gold

Re: Public Interest at NYU vs. Columbia vs. Berkeley?

Post by dixiecupdrinking » Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:27 pm