Hofstra 30k, NYLS 25k, CUNY & Fordham PT Sticker

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
JennaX007

Hofstra 30k, NYLS 25k, CUNY & Fordham PT Sticker

Postby JennaX007 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:38 pm

I'm possibly getting 3-9k add'l scholly $ for NYLS no stip.
I'm highly passionate about going to PI route although I have no connections and experience in PI.
I would be better off financially working for a private firm because of my connections (I'm told that if I change my mind I'm guaranteed a job upon grad. at current employer). I'm leaving said job making 65/year including annual & quarterly bonuses,health plan,401/dbp. I don't know how to drive so I would have to get a car to commute to Hofstra or CUNY (I'm located in Brooklyn). My better half is covering my rent for the next 3-4 years. I am at my peak with retakes, obviously if I could I would.
Thank you in advance.

bk1

Re: Hofstra 30k, NYLS 25k, CUNY & Fordham PT Sticker

Postby bk1 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:41 pm

Would you work while at Fordham PT? If so, would it be at your current job or elsewhere?

Doorkeeper

Postby Doorkeeper » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:46 pm

...you would not be making 65k plus sweet bennies after graduating from the first three law schools, and Fordham is only good if you want to do NYC biglaw, and even then it's a rip off at sticker.

Why are you going to law school?

JennaX007

Postby JennaX007 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:47 pm

If I accept Fordham pt @sticker, then yes I would work. Salaried half on books and the rest paid by cash. That would also mean forfeiting my health ins. plan which cost 6k/year. Ideally would like to minimize debt. I would transfer from pt to ft after 1st year so this is where my predicament lies.

Postby 20130312 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:49 pm

Doorkeeper wrote:Why are you going to law school?

dixiecupdrinking

Postby dixiecupdrinking » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:54 pm

Fordham PT is the only legitimate choice here. Do not quit your job to go to any of these schools.