Latina - Do Direct Admit or Apply to Top?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
anie21

Latina - Do Direct Admit or Apply to Top?

Postby anie21 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:16 am

Hi folks, I never thought I would post on the board, but I never thought I would be faced with this dilemma. I am currently a junior in undergrad. with a 3.86 and intending to apply to law school. I have come across an opportunity at my school to receive direct admission to our law university law school (IU Maurer). Under the direct admit program I would receive half off tuition and no need for taking the LSAT, etc. I would know if I get accepted in May. The only thing is that I would have to promise not to apply to another school or take the LSAT.

I wouldn't mind going to IUMaurer (it's affordable and in the market I want to work (Midwest, IL/IN)) BUT I have a feeling I can get into a higher ranked school. My dream school really is University of Chicago.

I'm not sure what to do! I want to go to UoC but it would be more expensive. I'm not sure what to do: go direct admit at Maurer with a good financial aid or apply to other *higher ranking law schools during regular session.

Here are my stats
LSAT 160 (have not opened a lsat book at all, just went into a kaplan thing last year as a sophmore)
Lots of EC..they can all be summed up by saying im a Truman Finalist
Study abroad
First generation
Latino (mexican and puerto rican)
Lots of national awards
Female

Thanks for any help!

jkpolk

Re: Latina - Do Direct Admit or Apply to Top?

Postby jkpolk » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:18 am

:idea:
Last edited by jkpolk on Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dolfan0516

Postby dolfan0516 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:21 am