Columbia (1/2 free) vs Michigan (free)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Kring345

Columbia (1/2 free) vs Michigan (free)

Postby Kring345 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:18 pm

Hello everyone-

I recently posted something similar for NW vs Michigan, and you all helped to convince me that I wasnt crazy to prefer NU > Mich. I dont mean to spam the site with my need for assistance, but Im back once more. Im having a bit of a hard time doing research because Im in Afghanistan. Fortunately, Ive been given some time recently to dedicate myself to research, so I'd like to consult the collective wisdom of TLS.

I was recently accepted at Columbia, and it really threw my planning through a lop.

Im a veteran, so the GI Bill helps big-time with tuition and cost of living.

Columbia
51k tuition
- 27k GI Bill
= 24k/year owed
But + 2,800/mo cost of living stipend
Total debt, assuming COL covers all 'extra' stuff = ~75k

Northwestern
52k tuition
- 48k GI Bill
= 4k/year owed
But + 1,650/mo cost of living stipend
Total debt, assuming COL covers all 'extra' stuff = ~12k

Michigan
Free
+ 10k/yr stipend
= 10k/year GAIN
And + 1,250/mo cost of living stipend
Total debt, assuming COL covers all 'extra' stuff = ~0

All things being equal (prestige, rank, job prospects, money), I'd go to Columbia in a heart beat because of the location, proximity to family, proximity awesome stuff, and Ive always wanted to live in a major city, followed kinda closely by NU (Chicago is exactly mince meat) and then by Michigan (sorry, but Ive already lived in a quaint college town during UG).

Three factors to consider besides money:

1. I havent lived in the same place for more than 9 months since 2003 and I'd like to attend a law school in a place where I don’t have to leave during the summers and after graduating. Im absolutely exhausted from moving around the world/country (VA, CA, Iraq, Afghanistan x 2, DC, PA, etc). This is why I prefer CLS/Northwestern over Michigan.