Which Law school should I pick? So many factors... Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which Law School?

UConn $144k debt
12%
Rutgers Newark $108k debt, some connections
13%
Temple $133k debt
3%
FSU $99k debt, some connections
43%
Miami $105k debt, some connections
8%
St. Johns $70k debt, some connections
17%
Brooklyn $215k debt haha....
4%

Total votes: 93

curiousnole

New

Which Law school should I pick? So many factors...

Post by curiousnole » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:34 am

Obviously debt is a huge factor, but so is the location of my longtime girl friend, job prospects, and connections.
Please no "retake" or "don't go" I'm going...

Here are the factors and other relevant info:

My girlfriend of 4 years who I am going to marry will be living and attending med school in New York and I'd very much like to be close to her. I am an undergrad at FSU and I really just want to get out of Tallahassee and see a new place even though Tallahassee offers a lot of great opportunities.

I really really like Miami and my girlfriend could go to Miami after one year, I would love to one day live there, but my scholarship has a top 1/3 stipulation and if I lose the scholarship after the first year that would put me a total of $155k in debt and that just seems like too much... Although my family has some law connections in Florida and I love Florida.

St Johns offered me a full scholarship, but who knows if I'd be able to keep it and I know the job prospects are pretty poor in that incredibly saturated market, especially from the 30th worst school. BUT... it is close to the love of my life, which is a large factor. Also, some connections.