Duke JD/MA

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Shooter

Duke JD/MA

Postby Shooter » Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:33 am

Hi TLS,

I searched the forums and found some general information about JD/MA programs, but none specifically for Duke's JD/MA in Economics.

Are there any current Duke students that have any experience with this program? What kind of jobs are available to Law/Economics graduates? Does it help/hurt one's chances of landing a BigLaw gig? Does it open other doors? Etc.

TL;DR = This shit's expensive, but I like the thought of being a versatile attorney. What do?

handsonthewheel

Re: Duke JD/MA

Postby handsonthewheel » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:54 pm

This is not a rhetorical question: why do you want to get an MA in economics?

My understanding is that it won't do anything for you legal practice possibilities.

Shooter

Postby Shooter » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:05 pm

As a lawyer I want to provide as much value as possible to my future clients. I think that having a very thorough understanding of econometrics and industrial organization would be unique and helpful in that regard. It might also give me better exit options if it turns out that I am not a good fit for the BigLaw lifestyle.

Taking this into consideration, anyone else want to weigh in?

PARTY

Postby PARTY » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:10 pm

retake, ED to UVA.

handsonthewheel

Postby handsonthewheel » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:49 pm

Shooter wrote:As a lawyer I want to provide as much value as possible to my future clients. I think that having a very thorough understanding of econometrics and industrial organization would be unique and helpful in that regard. It might also give me better exit options if it turns out that I am not a good fit for the BigLaw lifestyle.

Taking this into consideration, anyone else want to weigh in?