Emory (some $) vs. UF Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Emory vs UF

Emory
24%
UF
76%

Total votes: 17

rcrdriv

New

Emory (some $) vs. UF

Post by rcrdriv » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:33 am

Hate to resurrect a thread, but some things in my life have changed recently and rather dramatically. COA is now negligible between the two schools. I have been leaning UF lately but I feel that I may be missing out on some opportunity by not attending Emory. From what I understand Emory has more of an ability than UF to open up corporate related jobs and not just doing litigation or shit law. I've toured both, enjoyed both, but not sure which would be better in the long run. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

So I just recently got into Emory, which changes my cycle quite a bit. I am a FL resident, who was originally set on UF. However, with the recent Emory acceptance and $ to make the cost somewhat competitive with UF (cost at Emory is still slightly higher), I'm rethinking where I should end up.

I'm open to workin outside FL and I feel like Emory gives me a better chance of landing employment if FL firms don't work out. Am I completely crazy for thinking about Emory with the recent downgrade in rankings and threads I've seen on here regarding Emory's employment numbers? I would argue that UF's prospects aren't substantially different than Emory's in Florida and certainly weaker outside of the state.
Last edited by rcrdriv on Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

romothesavior

Diamond

Re: Emory (some $) vs. UF

Post by romothesavior » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:36 am

Any chance of negotiating with UF?

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:37 am

What is your total CoA at each school?

Also definitely agree with Romo, if you can negotiate with UF you should.

rcrdriv

New

Post by rcrdriv » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:41 am

romothesavior wrote:Any chance of negotiating with UF?