Law School or Job?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jzabl001

Law School or Job?

Postby jzabl001 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:11 am

I graduated back in 2010 and then immediately got an MBA, finishing this past September. I applied to law school thinking I wanted to do transactional law but got offered a job early this week at a Forex trader as an entry level-Jr. Trader/Business Developer. The job only pays about 40K a year but it's a solid first job with a good company and could hopefully lead to better things after 6 months to a year, whether there or at another financial institution. I have a business background so I'm thinking about taking it but will I be passing up potentially more money in 3 years by taking this job now. I know the job market is crap in the legal profession but I'd have to think it will be better at this time 3 years from now. Thoughts welcome

danitt

Re: Law School or Job?

Postby danitt » Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:22 am

jzabl001 wrote:I graduated back in 2010 and then immediately got an MBA, finishing this past September. I applied to law school thinking I wanted to do transactional law but got offered a job early this week at a Forex trader as an entry level-Jr. Trader/Business Developer. The job only pays about 40K a year but it's a solid first job with a good company and could hopefully lead to better things after 6 months to a year, whether there or at another financial institution. I have a business background so I'm thinking about taking it but will I be passing up potentially more money in 3 years by taking this job now. I know the job market is crap in the legal profession but I'd have to think it will be better at this time 3 years from now. Thoughts welcome

Law school isn't going anywhere. Take the job, work for a bit, make a dent in any debt you have or start saving and look at law school again in a couple of years. It won't hurt you to work is what I'm saying.

justicefishy