Best option for SF bay area given these circumstances?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
masked kavana

Best option for SF bay area given these circumstances?

Postby masked kavana » Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:50 am

I'm a non-traditional student that is looking to attend law school this fall (just turned 30 and will just be graduating from UG this May)

My family (fiancé, baby and I) would like to either remain in or come back to the SF bay area following law school.

So far I've been admitted to:

W&M ($6k/yr. just don't flunk out stip)
L&C (11k/yr. 2.95 stip.)
UMinn ($23k/yr.)
USF (30k for first year, non-renewable)

I'm on reserve at Cornell and am still waiting on Stanford, Hastings and Berkeley.

I don't see myself getting into any of the T-14 as I have a low split (2.52/167 even with an updated 4.0 fall 2011 semester)

USF's job placement scares the hell out of me and going to W&M may actually be cheaper than attending Hastings...

So barring a miracle Cornell acceptance what is the next best option?

Thanks for your help!

The Brainalist

Re: Best option for SF bay area given these circumstances?

Postby The Brainalist » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:13 am

I'm curious about how committed you are to living in the bay area. Job prospects aren't that good from USF. Even if you get a job, the bay area is expensive and the public elementary/high schools aren't good. If it were me, and I had to care for a child, unless I had a lot of family support (meaning parents or grandparents who will actually provide free daycare), I would start looking at a more family friendly city that happened to have a much better and cheaper law school (such as St. Paul/Minn/UMinn).

What about Santa Clara U?

pillowpet

Postby pillowpet » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:39 am

How about uc davis?

santa clara is probably a better option than usf and should offer u a similar scholarship package. Also, it would be a good place for a family.

ryemanhattan