Struggling with a Decision

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
LawStudent89

Struggling with a Decision

Postby LawStudent89 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:08 pm

I recently received acceptance to SUNY UB with a scholly. I am a New York Resident and I have the money to pay for school without any debt. If I am not going to any t14 schools, should I disregard any other school because of the chance of being debt-free?

Thanks for the help.

ben4847

Re: Struggling with a Decision

Postby ben4847 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:10 pm

Why don't you give us your numbers. I don't know what in state tuition there is, but if it is about 25k, there are likely much better schools you can attend on partial scholarship and pay 25k

mrtoren

Postby mrtoren » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:13 pm

SUNY UB is a decent choice if you have abandoned all desire to work in NYC. However, like the poster above said, we need your numbers to give you better advice. In my opinion, unless you're cracking Dozo or Fordham, its probably a good idea to head upstate or look outside of NY.

LawStudent89

Postby LawStudent89 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm

Sorry for the lack of information. I have a 160 and 3.43 gpa. I have been accepted to UCONN and Miami so far. Waiting to hear back from cardozo, brooklyn, richmond, american, FSU, Uni of Florida, William and Mary, and George Mason.

MellowMantis

Postby MellowMantis » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:27 pm

I have similar numbers and have applied to some of the same schools. Although I have not gotten any decisions yet I feel as if i may be in a similar position between choosing to accept a scholly at a school such as UB or pay sticker at somewhere better ranked. I am interested to see what other offers you get and would like to contribute when i start hearing back.

WSJ_Law

Postby WSJ_Law » Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:33 pm