Cardozo w/full scholarship?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
abirdwell

Cardozo w/full scholarship?

Postby abirdwell » Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:41 am

Hi there,

I'm an older student (28) and just got admitted to Cardozo with a full scholarship. I'm also in at both Duke and NYU, but no word on money yet. I applied for the Ambryce and the Root-Tilden at NYU, but both are probably long shots.

There's no question of me going to any school where I don't get $ - I'm married with one child and we want more. My question is: if Cardozo is the best offer I receive, should I go? I really love the school, but I don't want to go if I'm not going to be able to get a job. I imagine it'll be somewhat more challenging for me anyway to enter the job market at 32, with kids. I think I'd really love to be a lawyer and would be a good one - but I'm not interested in getting a degree I can't use...

Amanda

No13baby

Re: Cardozo w/full scholarship?

Postby No13baby » Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:49 pm

Does the scholarship come with any stipulations?

KMaine

Postby KMaine » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:05 pm

Amanda -

Congratulations on all of the great offers! First of all, your age should not present a significant obstacle to getting a legal job. I am 39 with 3 kids, and got one, most of my friends of the same age (both men and women) are employed with jobs they are happy with.

Keep in mind that we are talking about completely different leagues of schools here. NYU and Duke will both open up doors that are completely closed to all but the top 5 or so students at Cardozo. Of course, that comes with some risk if you can't get a high paying job straight away (risk is somewhat mitigated by LRAP programs and Income Based Repayment).