Vermont, U Conn, Quinnipiac - Choosing a School

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MegMargaret

Vermont, U Conn, Quinnipiac - Choosing a School

Postby MegMargaret » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:47 pm

Hello, all.

This is my first time using a forum so I'm not totally sure how it works. I applied to a lot of schools this cycle, and so far I am 7 for 7 on acceptances (and over the moon!). Still, all of these acceptances have prompted a new problem: How to choose.

I applied to small schools that had high student/faculty ratios. I don't care too much about rankings - I just want to have a good experience in law school and hopefully get a good legal job when I get out. I don't need to make piles of money; I just want to make enough to support myself and my partner, and hopefully not get too deep in debt.

My partner and I currently live in Northern CA, but strongly desire to live in a small New England town, which is why I only applied to East Coast law schools. Although so far I've been accepted several places, my short list is Vermont, U Conn, and Quinnipiac. My partner and I intend to fly out for visits in February, but until then, I was wondering what some of you thought.

Vermont: I really like the idea of going here. I like the smallness of both the school and South Royalton, I love how students and alumni seem to really love the school, and I like that they have a strong "Partners" program (vermontlaw.edu/partners). I have been offered $30,000 per year for all three years (totalling $90,000) which would help to offset the cost of tuition.

U Conn: I have not been offered any scholarship to this school; however, I'm wondering whether it's worth it to pay sticker (for future job prospects)