Cornell (possible sticker) vs. Minnesota Full ride

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Guillaume9

Cornell (possible sticker) vs. Minnesota Full ride

Postby Guillaume9 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 am

I am an international student and I have just been admitted by Cornell (no aid info) and Minnesota (full ride for a GPA > 2.5).
I read somewhere in this forum that law firms in Minneapolis are unlikely to hire any international student. But the thought of going to Cornell and end up with a 200k debt is daunting. I do not have a strong location preference, although being an international student may mean I'll have to go to the coasts because it seems that firms there are the only firms sponsoring H1B visas???? (I'm not sure about this...)
I know that it may be a little too early to ask this question, and I am still waiting for some other schools, but I just want to hear some input before having to make a decision several months later. So I’d really appreciate your suggestions.

KMaine

Re: Cornell (possible sticker) vs. Minnesota Full ride

Postby KMaine » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:39 am

I can't speak to the international aspect. Overall, I would say that it depends on your goals. Only the tippy top of the class at MN has a chance at NYC biglaw, where a majority of the class at Cornell has a shot. Going to MN will limit your geographic mobility, but will give you the freedom that comes with having little debt. You will essentially be free to take a job that appeals to you.

I may be more of the play it safe mode, plus I would not be horrified at the idea of practicing in MN, but free tuition would be tough for me to pass up.

Pato_09

Postby Pato_09 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:40 am

Cornell, all the way.

Postby 20130312 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:41 am

Just curious, why Minnesota? Also, recognize that full tuition does not mean free. You'll be taking out loans to live off of for rent, food, books, entertainment, and whatever else you'll need to spend money on.