Need some sage TLS advice...

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MLONDER

Need some sage TLS advice...

Postby MLONDER » Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:10 pm

I'm a long time lurker of these forums, and have taken everything I read on here to heart during the LSAT preparation/ law school application process over the past couple of years. Just wanted to write a quick thank you to all of the regular/long time posters who have put so much time and effort into making this website a great resource/wake up call for potential law students.

Now, in the midst of my cycle, I come to you with a question. I've just gotten acceptances from my Top 2 choices for Law School - The University of Kentucky and Moritz College of Law at Ohio State -and I wanted to take this forum's temperature as to what the better decision would be.

I am a South Carolina resident who has gotten into South Carolina Law but really has no desire to attend, nor really to remain in state. Charleston School of Law really is not even an option for me, for obvious reasons. So, both schools would be out of state for me.

It's still too early on to tell what my scholarship offers are going to be, but even at out of state sticker, OSU is about $15,000 higher a year, and the cost of living is a touch higher in Columbus than it is in Lexington. I realize that OSU is a bit higher in terms of prestige, but I have a feeling, based on my numbers, that I'll be expected to pay sticker or close to sticker there, while UK will likely offer a pretty sizable scholarship on top of the already lower tuition.

I like both schools equally in terms of campus, location, and intangibles, and I want to live and work somewhere in the midwest (Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, or Michigan), so UK really seems like an equally, if not more wise investment for me than does OSU. I am strongly leaning towards attending, but I wanted to see what TLS thought before I decided on attending the "lower rated" school.