Should I even consider this?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
G.Edward

Should I even consider this?

Postby G.Edward » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:12 pm

Hi,
I am a new member of this site and I would like some opinions. Prior to six months ago I never thought about becoming an attorney, but I recently got a divorce and dealt with an attorney for the first time. I would like to protect the rights of father's in divorce cases primarily, as I feel very passionate about it. I have a fairly successful career, but not one I am happy in, and a son that I must support so going to a big time law school is out of the question. I have read some books on the LSAT and taken a few practice tests. My top score is a 172, but I usually hover around 166 to 170. My UG GPA was 3.86, but did retake some classes that I failed due to absences. My degree is in Computer Science, btw, and I would like to continue to work while attending law school, as I have a hefty child support payment that I must make each month. While researching I came across the Birmingham School of Law. I have never heard of it and would like to know if anyone here has. I also think I have a pretty good story that would help me get into law school. Thanks for any insight.

rinkrat19

Re: Should I even consider this?

Postby rinkrat19 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:19 pm

Your numbers (assuming you score near 170 on the real LSAT and that the retaken classes don't drop your GPA too much) could get you into a top school.

I'd never heard of Birmingham, probably because it isn't even ABA-accredited. Grads are only allowed to take the bar in Alabama. I would not be at all surprised to find out that employment prospects are utterly abysmal with a JD from there.

sasuke

Postby sasuke » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:21 pm