Media Law?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
sellingout89

Media Law?

Postby sellingout89 » Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:24 pm

Before I get to my question: I've been researching the law school application process, studying for the LSAT, etc.etc. the past few months and this forum has been an awesome resource. Thanks to the people who throw in serious comments (....and the trolls who make fun of the many that take themselves too seriously on here)

Now some things I couldn't find answers to anywhere, that I'm guessing others have asked: What about media law? Are there firms that specialize in working with newspapers, magazines, TV stations, etc.? (Lerman Senter is all I've found online, anyone know about them?) Are there any programs I should aim for to work in the field, like a JD/PhD in Journalism at Mizzou? I work as a reporter right now and I'm passionate about free speech, public access to and free flow of information, copyright/trademark rights of authors and news organizations, and so on. The ability to work around those topics day in and day out is what I'm hoping to get out of law school.

Advice, anyone?

Opie

Re: Media Law?

Postby Opie » Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:33 pm

I don't think the PhD. will help much because the issues a media lawyer faces are mostly legal and not journalistic. With that said, I don't know much about what schools would be best. I would imagine you should go to the highest ranked school that is near a media hub like NYC so that you have a good shot at meaningful summer work.

spondee

Postby spondee » Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:46 pm