Is University of Miami worth it, if you live for free?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
eugenedmngz

Is University of Miami worth it, if you live for free?

Postby eugenedmngz » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:52 pm

I have a dilemma on my hands, and would appreciate help from the extremely knowledgeable people on TLS =). I have just taken my October LSAT, and I feel like I did decent on it. I'm expected to finish my UG this spring, and I haven't applied to any law schools yet because I plan on working another year or so before I jump straight into school again. I've been working ever since I was 15 years old nonstop, and I have a decent chunk of money saved up.

I have recently gotten a lot of pressure from my parents to apply to the University of Miami LS for several reason:

My parents recently bought an apartment complex in Coral Gables, and don't plan on moving to FL for another 5 years so they'd essentially would want me to run it for them while I attend school.

My father is good friends with someone who works for admissions for the law school, and his friend has basically guaranteed me I'd get in as long as I hit the 25th percentile for their school on the LSAT.

Because I've been working for the past 7 years non-stop I have a lot of money saved up, and essentially wouldn't have to take out large loans because I've been frugal in my spending.