Charleston School of Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ahduke99

New

Charleston School of Law

Post by ahduke99 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:17 pm

Classes start Monday and I've been through orientation, but I'm getting the vibe from this school that it's a sham. They're nice people, but many of the students have outright told me that the job market for the school after graduation is horrendous. One peer leader told me most of the grads had to leave Charleston because the market is so minuscule.

I am seriously considering not attending. For $40,000 a year, I can do something else. I graduated from business school at Wake Forest, so I can pursue other options. My family wants me to go considering I'm from the area and they all live there, but my head and heart is saying stay far, far away. When the professors who went to Harvard Law are telling us they wish they could've gone to CSOL, it actually is kind of insulting.

Am I out of line on this? I feel like I'll be unemployed in three years, especially because I want to practice tax/corporate law. Charleston seems to be big on the public defender/criminal law route.

Diamond

Re: Charleston School of Law

Post by 20160810 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:19 pm

If serious thread, then let me be the first to say Kudos for realizing thsi is a scam BEFORE wasting your money. Get out. Go use your MBA, or reapply to law school somewhere else. But the bottom line is that if you want to do corporate law, then run like hell away from that school.

ahduke99

New

Post by ahduke99 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:22 pm

SBL wrote:If serious thread, then let me be the first to say Kudos for realizing thsi is a scam BEFORE wasting your money. Get out. Go use your MBA, or reapply to law school somewhere else. But the bottom line is that if you want to do corporate law, then run like hell away from that school.