Quinnipiac University School of Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
law_girl

Quinnipiac University School of Law

Postby law_girl » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:26 am

Is it worth going to Quinnipiac University School of Law?
I just received an acceptance letter from Quinnipiac, and I'd love to go there because it's located in the East coast (I'd like to either work in the east coast of the US or going back to my country - I'm from Asia).
HOWEVER, the school is very very expensive (I'm an international student and my parents are paying for my tuition fees).

Please let me know what you think about this law school. Thank you again!:)

ndirish2010

Re: Quinnipiac University School of Law

Postby ndirish2010 » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:29 am

No. /thread before shitstorm.

snapdragon

Postby snapdragon » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:38 am

My perspective on Quinnipiac.

Pros:

QU is a very up and coming name in CT. Their undergrad has surpassed traditionally superior schools, and they are investing a lot in building themselves up as a big name (buying University of Bridgeport's law school, developing a med school, etc).

They are one of only three schools in CT (UConn, Yale, QU).

They are in a nice residential area but close enough to New Haven to have some sort of nightlife.

Cons:

They are extremely expensive.

CT does not have a huge legal market and there are a lot of law schools in New England.

Employment and salary stats look grim (see: --LinkRemoved--). A lack of response with regards to employment status or salary is usually indicative of low salary. "Business" here can mean everything from Fortune 500 to Taco Bell. A large percentage of the class working in "business" is not desirable.

The degree will have very little portability outside of Connecticut.

The school is fairly new and does not have a huge alumni base.