Talk me out of law school (UMaine)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
bosa

Talk me out of law school (UMaine)

Postby bosa » Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:56 pm

I need some harsh criticism on my choice. This is between either attending here or going to the workforce now.

Here are the facts that are not disputable:

1. I am a Maine resident meaning I pay in state rates approx. 22k
2. I would like to stay in New England and am not really looking for a big job in the big city.
3. I will graduate with almost no debt (at most 6k) that includes living costs, etc.
4. I believe I will actually enjoy law school and practicing law (I could be wrong of course)
5. My fallback is an economics degree from a top 20 liberals arts college with a moderate/low GPA approx 3.0

So given all of that why should I go or why shouldn't I go? I have only given a deposit, so your good argument could save me 3 years of my time and some significant opportunity costs.

bk1

Re: Talk me out of law school (UMaine)

Postby bk1 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:59 pm

Only 43% of 2009 UMaine grads found full time lawyer jobs within 9 months (source: --LinkRemoved--).

If you like having less than 50% chance at being a lawyer then be my guest.

bosa

Postby bosa » Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:10 pm

Hmm yes that seems low, although given such low debt wouldn't it be better to have a 50% chance at a legal career versus no chance?

bk1

Postby bk1 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:13 pm

bosa wrote:Hmm yes that seems low, although given such low debt wouldn't it be better to have a 50% chance at a legal career versus no chance?

I'm not saying it's a horrid bet (especially if you want to work in Maine and I suspect the reason UMaine does poorly is because Maine's legal economy doesn't have enough jobs), but it isn't a particularly great one. I mean while you're basically spending only 6k, you do have a >50% chance that you will have spent 3 years for nothing.

Chippy

Postby Chippy » Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:16 pm