GW vs. UNH ($$$)? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ladolcevita

New

GW vs. UNH ($$$)?

Post by ladolcevita » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:40 am

Would I be a total idiot if I passed up GW?

I have a bachelor's in biology with a few years of work experience in biotech industry, and I'm interested in IP law. I got into UNH with a 35k/yr scholarship if I can keep a 3.2 GPA, and I chose it over the other schools I got into in Boston with no scholarship. Then I got a surprise last-minute acceptance off the wait list at George Washington last week. I will have financial help from the parents if I choose GW, but it would still be difficult. GW should be the obvious choice because it's by far the best school I got into and it's well known for IP, plus I wouldn't have to take out loans for the whole cost. But I still have serious doubts. I live in Boston, my boyfriend is here, and I want to stay in the New England area after I graduate. I like skiing and hiking and a more laid back lifestyle, and I was really looking forward to moving to NH. I'm not thrilled about moving to DC. I'm not one of those people who's set on working at a big law firm and living in a big city. I'd have more options graduating from GW, but is it worth going there if UNH is well known regionally and can get me a good job in the area where I want to live? Or would I regret not going to GW? I don't know.

Thoughts?

FlanSolo

Bronze

Re: GW vs. UNH ($$$)?

Post by FlanSolo » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:54 am

It sounds like you have a lot of legitimate real life reasons to go to UNH, especially if that's where you'd like to live, aren't particularly interested in BigLaw, and enjoy the lifestyle. One big question though is how hard is it going to be to maintain the 3.2? Have you looked at the curve?

ladolcevita

New

Post by ladolcevita » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:05 pm