Rutgers Newark ($) or Fordham (sticker)?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Rutgers ($) or Fordham (sticker)

Rutgers
68%
Fordham
32%

Total votes: 31

aei0u

Rutgers Newark ($) or Fordham (sticker)?

Postby aei0u » Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:12 am

Hi all --

Yesterday, I was VERY surprisingly offered a spot at Fordham after being on the waitlist for some time - in fact, I almost told them to just pull me from it. I had already put my seat deposit in for Rutgers Newark, where they offered me an $18,000/year merit scholarship (and I am a NJ resident, so I'd essentially be paying $5,000 for tuition). Fordham wants the $1000 seat deposit by next Friday and so I need to make a decision rather quickly.

There are several factors to consider, but I'm not sure how much weight to put on each one. My main concers are money (of course), housing, and probability of work during summers and after finishing (aka pay for school). In terms of money, my parents have offered me a bit of help and I have saved up a pretty big chunk of money from working between college and now, but Fordham will still set me WAY back. Fordham's housing notifications were sent out last week, so I doubt I will be able to get anything from them and will have to find my own housing (I don't mind living in Hoboken or Jersey City or Newark and commuting via Path) while Rutgers is already processing my housing request. And in terms of job opportunities, I've been getting very conflicting advice. Some say Fordham opens a lot of doors that Rutgers cannot and others say that Rutgers has a very good network especially if I don't mind staying in New Jersey.

I am very much conflicted since Rutgers offered me such a huge chunk of money, finding housing on my own is a giant headache, and I'm not sure if the difference in the caliber of the schools is worth the money.

Thank you all in advance!

Aberzombie1892

Re: Rutgers Newark ($) or Fordham (sticker)?

Postby Aberzombie1892 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:41 am