Should I go to Southwestern Law School W/ no scholarship?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
a4rings

Should I go to Southwestern Law School W/ no scholarship?

Postby a4rings » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:34 am

Hey guys, I'm 23 yrs old and i graduated from UC Santa Barbara with a degree in Business Economics with Accounting (3.4 GPA). Now i managed to do pretty shitty on my LSAT (154) and have been accepted to Southwestern Law School's full time program with absolutely no scholarship. I definitely want to live and practice within california, and I'm just wondering if you guys think it's even worth attending a tier 3 school with no scholarship (my deposit deadline of $1000 is tomorrow June 10th)

I'm just very nervous about shouldering such a large amount of debt just to go to a unranked school. So i guess my options are

1.) Attend SW for the Fall 2011 school year

2.) Retake the LSAT and apply for the 2012 school year and hope i get accepted to a better school.

3.) Say forget Law School and get involved in the finance industry either in consulting or wealth management where i would work for 2-4 years and then get my MBA

4.)Say forget Law School and get a good paying (40-60K) Accounting job now and then 2-4 years down the line go get my MBA

Regardless of what I choose I am determined to get my MBA, meaning that even at SW I plan on doing the joint JD/MBA program.

Final note, how realistic is it transfer from SW to a higher ranked law school after the first year? I was consistently scoring in the 160-164 range but i screwed up the LG section really bad on test day and got a 154-- so i guess gauge my intelligence on a 160 lsat rather than the 154.

thanks alot goys, i really appreciate the help!

Edit: sorry I accidentally said i was 22... im 23 and graduated June 2010
Last edited by a4rings on Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

socraticmethodman

Re: Should I go to Southwestern Law School W/ no scholarship?