ONE WEEK: Cornell vs UC Hastings vs U Washington

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I attend?

Poll ended at Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:47 pm

Cornell - 45K (need based)
82%
U Washington - 15K (merit; don't know need yet)
9%
UC Hastings - 63K (merit and need based)
9%

Total votes: 34

equalityLaw10

ONE WEEK: Cornell vs UC Hastings vs U Washington

Postby equalityLaw10 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:47 pm

I need to commit to one of these schools in the next week.

I've visited Hastings and U Washington and I'm visiting Cornell this coming week.

I'm a Northern CA resident and I like California; I could see myself living and practicing in the Bay Area. When I visited Washington, I loved Seattle and I could picture myself living there as well. I've been to NYC once and I really liked it, but I haven't spent enough time there to make a decision. Never been to Ithaca...yet.

As far as financial aid is concerned, Hastings has offered me ~63K in scholarships and grants. Washington has offered me 15K merit and I haven't heard about need-based yet but I hear it caps at about 7K. Cornell offered me 45K in need-based grants, nothing for merit. (All of these amounts are over three years)

I'm interested in a few areas of law, particularly corporate/business law and public interest law working with Tribes in an economic development capacity.

Things to consider: I really do not know where I want to live, and for that reason I'm attracted to Cornell because I believe it will give me the most degree portability. However, I'm reluctant to let go of Washington and Hastings because I really like Seattle and SF. I'm gay, and I feel like an urban setting would fit me well. However, it is only three years and I really believe I can live wherever I need to for the best education.

Any input? I feel like Cornell is the correct choice, but for whatever reason I cannot pull the trigger and commit.

Also riding 4 wait lists at schools ranked higher than Cornell.