Indiana Maurer or Ohio State Moritz

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
JR42

Indiana Maurer or Ohio State Moritz

Postby JR42 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:41 pm

I am very interested to get your thoughts on my current decision, which is between Indiana Maurer or Ohio State Moritz. I am an Ohio resident, would like to practice in the Midwest, and I'm concerned with my debt load. I'm interested in both public interest law and alternative dispute resolution. From my interest in public interest, I am not looking or expecting to be making a ton of money. I also have little debt from undergrad.

Ohio State has offered me 5k a year and Indiana has offered me 15k a year. Indiana would end up costing about 20k more over three years than Ohio State. I'm a city person, which means I'm not a big fan of Bloomington and I would rather practice in Ohio than Indiana if I had to choose. I'm currently leaning toward Ohio State, but I'm wavering because of Indiana's higher ranking and I have about a week to decide.

Any and all thoughts/advice/perspective would be greatly appreciated.

Grizz

Re: Indiana Maurer or Ohio State Moritz

Postby Grizz » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:43 pm

Ohio bro, because it is cheaper and you are from there. You're choosing between 2 regional schools and would rather practice in Ohio.

313D313

Postby 313D313 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:46 pm

JR42 wrote:I would rather practice in Ohio than Indiana if I had to choose.

There is your answer: Ohio State

JR42

Postby JR42 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:54 pm

Thanks for the responses. I'm a big fan of the Randy Savage avatar. On another note, is it worth it for me to try and leverage Ohio State for more money? From what little I know as a 0L, I have heard that it is hard to get more scholarship money for instate students and with my scholarship tuition would only be 20k a year as is. On the flip side, the worst thing they can say is no. Any thoughts?

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:57 pm