How critical are T1 rankings?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
KJG

How critical are T1 rankings?

Postby KJG » Fri May 27, 2011 7:55 am

So I've made the decision to go with law. I have a 3.91 UGPA and a 3.83 GGPA (MA History). I have not taken the LSAT yet but have success on other graduate exams. Not saying I will destroy it but I think I will achieve a decent score. I have enough g.i. bill funding to cover a year and a half including CoL. As far as softs go I have a military background and I worked full time while I earned my degrees. I am hoping to score well enough to get into a 30 ranked school but go for scholly at a 50ish.

I am in state at FL and thinking FSU. Also considering Georgia which is ranked around 20 pts higher. Are there significant differences between these schools or others around the same numbers? Is it worth out of state tuition? Biglaw is not really my goal. I will graduate with less than 20K debt and would be thrilled to make 70K starting out. Even 50K would be great. For my style of life that is a lot of money. There is no particular field of law that interests me more than another. Any opinions are more than welcome.

ahduth

Re: How critical are T1 rankings?

Postby ahduth » Fri May 27, 2011 8:12 am

Alright. Normally I try my hardest to be a douchebag around here, but I just woke up.

You need to take the LSAT.

Everything is just... speculation until you do that. You have a 3.91 UGPA. This is very good. If you score over 170 on the LSAT, looking at schools in FL or GA makes little sense unless you have to stick around for some reason, because you'll easily crack the T14. If you can't top 150 on the LSAT... I can't really speak to your odds, but they're obviously quite different.