IU-B (15k/yr) vs. Tulane (22k/yr) HELP!!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Help

IUB @ 15k/yr.
20%
Tulane @ 20k/yr.
80%

Total votes: 30

blazer14

IU-B (15k/yr) vs. Tulane (22k/yr) HELP!!

Postby blazer14 » Mon May 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Hello everyone, I need some help in making a decision. I am a Texas resident and would like to practice in Austin or Miami and would maybe even consider San Antonio or Houston. IUB gave me a 75k scholarship over 3 years provided that I pay the out of state price and Tulane gave me a 60k scholarship over 3 years with a 3.0 GPA stipulation.

When it’s all said and done IUB would cost 15/yr. & Tulane 20k/yr. I want to practice Immigration Law, Employment Law, or Sports Law.

I had a chance to visit Tulane and I really enjoyed it and can definitely see myself going there. Plus there programs seem to be more compatible with my interests. I have not visited IUB, but it is the highest ranked law school I’ve gotten into so far and the tuition would be cheaper then Tulane’s.

Please help me decide which school to attend.

SOCRATiC

Re: IU-B (15k/yr) vs. Tulane (22k/yr) HELP!!

Postby SOCRATiC » Mon May 23, 2011 8:50 pm

Law schools are all the same. The special programs really don't matter and probably won't improve your chances at employment. Go to IUB.

pacers3177

Postby pacers3177 » Tue May 24, 2011 1:35 am

IUB may have jumped to a t25 school in the rankings, but it is still a regional school. If you wan to practice in the south, I'd stick to a southern school.

Gideon Strumpet

Postby Gideon Strumpet » Tue May 24, 2011 5:53 am

If this is the range of schools you have access to, and if you want to work in Texas, then you need to get into a Texas school.

blazer14

Postby blazer14 » Tue May 24, 2011 9:36 pm

Gideon Strumpet wrote:If this is the range of schools you have access to, and if you want to work in Texas, then you need to get into a Texas school.