Cornell v.s. Georgetown

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I go?

Poll ended at Sat May 21, 2011 9:20 am

Cornell
40%
Georgetown
60%

Total votes: 35

gwon19

Cornell v.s. Georgetown

Postby gwon19 » Wed May 18, 2011 9:20 am

Hi! This is actually the first time I'm posting on TLS, even though I've been an avid reader for the past several months.
Thus far, Cornell and Georgetown are the only T14 schools I've gotten into.
(Got into Cornell in late March, and got off the waitlist at Georgetown just this month.)
Neither is giving me any $, but I'm pretty set on choosing between these two (unless I miraculously get off the waitlist at Michigan).

To give you some background about myself....
I'm a foreign student, and while I cannot predict the future, my dream is to join an international organization or an NGO dedicated toward international development and human rights.
While this criterion alone makes Georgetown a very attractive option (due to its location in the D.C.), I am not ruling out Big Law just yet, as it is my personal belief that those who are capable of working in the private sphere would also be at a much stronger standing later on to contribute to public interest.
So the difference between the two in terms of job prospect at major law firms is also an important criterion for me.
Lastly, I am slightly concerned about the large student body at Georgetown.
I'm actually very interested in what you guys have to say on this last point.
Do you think the large size is a negative factor in terms of excelling academically or getting a job?

While I AM leaning toward Georgetown, would love to hear what you guys think before I make my final decision in the weeks ahead.
Thanks in advance, and I look forward to hearing from you guys! :)

Moxie

Re: Cornell v.s. Georgetown

Postby Moxie » Wed May 18, 2011 9:22 am