Best Choice for Non-traditional Big Gov Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Best Choice for DC Big Gov?

WUSTL (~$150k COA)
20%
William & Mary (~$123k COA)
60%
Boston College (~$134k COA)
20%

Total votes: 20

jcdc

New

Best Choice for Non-traditional Big Gov

Post by jcdc » Wed May 11, 2011 10:31 am

Last edited by jcdc on Wed May 25, 2011 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Law Sauce

Silver

Re: Best Choice for Non-traditional Big Gov

Post by Law Sauce » Wed May 11, 2011 11:38 am

I am no expert at all, but i'd probably take w&m if I were you if for nothing more than the closeness to DC and the ability to make better contacts. I think Wash U would be a bad choice for DC and while BC is a good name, it is strongest in boston and in private practice.

What are your numbers? If you are not a splitter and you think that you may be able to up your lsat by a few points and/or you can stay at your current job in the govt and make even more contacts, you should consider retake/reapplying and EDing to Georgetown. If you are on the waitlist now, perhaps with a slightly better lsat and an ED, you may get it. This also gives you another shot at GW. You can also polish up those essays if you didnt put tons of work into them the first time. Another possible strategy if you have good numbers would be to move to the Arlington area in va, keep working in dc and apply next year to uva with in state and an ED. Even at sticker though, GULC would probably be the best choice and would be a much better choice for you than the schools you have now. So I'd at least consider it.

If not, then I vote W&M, because it is the cheapest, the closest, and places the most in gov/DC (I believe, I could be wrong), if yo absolutely cant live in williamsburg then BC

jonillson

New

Post by jonillson » Wed May 11, 2011 11:44 am