Syracuse v. St. John's 10k

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Loosey5

Syracuse v. St. John's 10k

Postby Loosey5 » Tue May 03, 2011 5:46 pm

Hey all,

I am a recently admitted student at both schools with only St. John's offering a scholarship in the amount of 10k. I wanted to hear your opinions on the matter. I am attempting to leverage Syracuse into giving me some money, although I do not expect it to be more then $2,500 if any at all.

I think it is important to inform you I am from California and plan to move back after completing law school. SU appears to have a better alumni base in Cali than does St. John's. Also, i already put a $500 advance deposit on Syracuse.

These are the best two schools I have gotten into so far and I am torn.

Any and all feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

bk1

Re: Syracuse v. St. John's 10k

Postby bk1 » Tue May 03, 2011 5:51 pm

Loosey5 wrote:I think it is important to inform you I am from California and plan to move back after completing law school.

This is a horrible idea for 2 reasons:

1. Law schools are regional and it will be almost impossible for you to find a CA job out of these schools.

2. These schools are very expensive and do not justify taking out 6 figures worth of loans to pay for them. The job prospects that these schools will provide will not make your debt manageable.

Simply put you need to retake/reapply.

For my reasoning, read this: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=153659#p4314664

scammedhard

Postby scammedhard » Tue May 03, 2011 6:09 pm

Loosey5 wrote:These are the best two schools I have gotten into so far and I am torn.

Torn? You don't know what torn means yet, but you will if you go to either of these schools. RETAKE - REAPPLY.

0U812

Postby 0U812 » Tue May 03, 2011 6:14 pm

This is ONLY my advice, take what others on the blog say with a grain of salt.

There are many individuals here who will agrue attending anything less than Ivy League is foolish.