Thinking about the future

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
gator89

Thinking about the future

Postby gator89 » Mon May 02, 2011 11:42 am

I want to go into tax law; so I am planning to get my LLM. I am a current ug student at UF and will most likely go to UF for law school, barring admittance. If I am able to stay at UF for a tax LLM does that open up opportunity to work outside of Florida since it is so highly ranked? I know UF places most of their JD grads in Florida; but I could not find any employment stats for the LLM graduates. Should I instead shoot for a JD from a school that gives me more versatility for employment coupled with an LLM?

Thanks!

JamMasterJ

Re: Thinking about the future

Postby JamMasterJ » Mon May 02, 2011 11:48 am

Yeah, go to NYU. Your JD and LLM will be awesome for Fl practice but will be tough to transfer more than a couple states away - at least that's the case with the JD, I'm not positive on the transferrability of a UF LLM.

Law Sauce

Postby Law Sauce » Mon May 02, 2011 11:56 am

I assume you are still early in the process. If so, work as hard as you can to get the best lsat you can and go to the best school you can get into (not strictly usnews of course), For Florida your goals could be UVA, Duke, Vandy, or better if you do really well. UF would be a great choice but if you can do better I think you should try to. Also, do your JD before thinking about an llm. They are not always necessary.

Also keep hanging around here and get a better sense of the law school market.

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Mon May 02, 2011 12:00 pm