SMU or Wash U??

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

SMU or Wash U???

SMU (full tuition/fees + live at home)
68%
Wash U (full tuition/fees)
32%

Total votes: 25

meshell_3

SMU or Wash U??

Postby meshell_3 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:17 pm

Where should I go? I want to go to a midsize firm - probably not big law, as I am 30 and would like to work less than 80hours per week when I get out of school. My first job will be in Dallas (so SMU will be great for networking), but eventually, I might want to work in St. Louis or Chicago (I grew up in this area). I will be spending at least 3-5 years in Dallas after I graduate though . . .

I have a full tuition/fees scholarship from both Wash U and SMU, however, at SMU, I can live at home and save a substantial amount of money on cost of living. Oh and my background is engineering, so I might want to do something related to engineering and law when I get out. Considering I am 30, and would like a family, etc. when I get out of school, would choosing the less debt (~$30k less??) or the better school be the best option? Also, the most important question, if I attend SMU, will it matter if I decide to move to St. Louis 5 to 10 years down the line?

scammedhard

Re: SMU or Wash U??

Postby scammedhard » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:21 pm

I say go to WashU for free and live cheaply.

"My first job will be in Dallas"

Sorry I misread. Go to SMU for free. Congrats on the sweet deal.
Last edited by scammedhard on Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:25 pm

I misread.

If you want to work in Dallas immediately after graduation, SMU would be a better bet. It would be easier to move to St. Louis and find employment as an experienced attorney than it would be to find a job after graduation in Dallas with a Wash U degree.
Last edited by kalvano on Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mez06

Postby mez06 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:27 pm