DePaul ($$) vs. Chicago-Kent (zero) for IP law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

DePaul (15k/yr) vs. Chicago-Kent (zero) ?

DePaul with money
32%
Chicago-Kent with none
68%

Total votes: 25

smdewart

New

DePaul ($$) vs. Chicago-Kent (zero) for IP law

Postby smdewart » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:22 am

Hi guys, I'm having a bit of a dilemma. I've been accepted to all the part-time programs in Chicago and have narrowed my choices down to DePaul and Chicago-Kent. I'm a working professional with quite a few years of marketing/advertising/online experience and intend to pursue IP law (copyright, TM, branding, etc.).

What does everyone think? Details below. (And assuming I *am* going... please no remarks about how it's not necessary to go to either school... :-)

DePaul:
+ Offered $15k per year (first year unconditional, subsequently requires 3.2 GPA)
+ Good IP program
- Lower ranked
- Questionable career prospects
- Blah building
- No summer 1L classes

Chicago-Kent:
+ GREAT IP program
+ Keeps climbing in the rankings and seems to have a very positive trajectory generally
+ Great faculty/building
+ Seems to have better career prospects vs. DePaul
+ Can start 1L in the summer (takes huge weight off fall semester)
- No scholarship

MrKappus

Gold

Re: DePaul ($$) vs. Chicago-Kent (zero) for IP law

Postby MrKappus » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:25 am

45 G's running at 6-8% ain't no tea party. I'd take DePaul. The workload PT isn't ever going to be that bad, so I wouldn't go ~50 grand more in debt just to take some summer courses. Rankings after the top 20 or so don't really matter. If you're PT and a professional, your GPA, WE, regional ties, and extracurric's will make or break you (not 20 or so spots in the rankings). Just my $0.02. Also, probably obvious, but you should ask to get the scholarship stips removed. Can't hurt.

smdewart

New

Postby smdewart » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:15 pm