Baylor ($40k) vs. In-state at Ole Miss ($10k)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
LoyalRebel

Baylor ($40k) vs. In-state at Ole Miss ($10k)

Postby LoyalRebel » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:57 pm

Basically, I'm trying to determine what the best choice is. Is Baylor's prestige worth the price tag?

On one hand, Baylor is one of the Top 2 or 3 schools in Texas. It would provide access to the much larger legal markets I wouldn't have access to at Ole Miss. On the other hand Ole Miss is much cheaper, but is more limited in terms of marketability. I have no scholarships to either school.

I am an Accounting undergrad, and I want to practice corporate or tax law.

The Ole Miss law school is T3, but they have a Masters of Taxation program that was ranked 15th in the nation last time I checked. If I went there, I would do the joint JD/Masters of Taxation program in hopes that the reputation of the Masters degree would help get me noticed where my JD wouldn't. It wouldn't be as competitive either, which would help with my class ranking.

Baylor is, well... Baylor. It was ranked 65, 64, and 56 in 2009, 2010, and 2011 respectively and seems to be on the rise. I'd really like access to some of those Dallas/Houston area law firms and Texas in general seems to have tons of money floating around. The only problem is the price tag, which I will be wholly responsible for. I will already have around $10k debt from undergrad when I graduate, so debt is a definite issue.

PS If anyone tells me to retake I will find where you live and slash your tires.

niederbomb

Re: Baylor ($40k) vs. In-state at Ole Miss ($10k)

Postby niederbomb » Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:34 am

Ole Miss for sure. Larger legal market aside, I can almost assure you that your job prospects in MS will be far better coming from Ole Miss than your job prospects in Texas would be graduating from Baylor. People in MS have a reverence for Ole Miss only surpassed by the adoration that Texans heap on UT.