NYU (sticker) v. Michigan ($$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Pick one. (Actual estimated cost, including living expenses)

Michigan (137,000)
68%
NYU (210,000)
32%

Total votes: 100

cucullu

NYU (sticker) v. Michigan ($$)

Postby cucullu » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:53 pm

Dream career path: federal clerkship --> PI --> clinical teaching.

No geographical preference for law school or after.

Discuss?

St.Remy

Re: NYU (sticker) v. Michigan ($$)

Postby St.Remy » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:59 pm

According to the data that I've seen on the subject Michigan and NYU graduates have similar rates of getting federal clerkships, with Michigan sometimes coming out on top. I'm no expert on PI however, and that seems like an area where NYU could have a substantial edge. All other things being equal I guess I would take Michigan for the lower debt.

Edit: what am I saying? For some reason reading your post and writing my own I thought that you meant IP, not PI. NYU is substantially better for PI, but I don't know about 70K better. If you are coming off a federal clerkship I imagine you would have little problem regardless of if you went NYU or Michigan, but obviously assuming a federal clerkship is a really bad idea. I'd still probably say Michigan, but it's close.

Also, have you tried to get NYU to match Michigan's aid offer? They did for me.

bdubs

Postby bdubs » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:17 pm

i recently sat down with a friend who just graduated from NYU and discussed schools and various pros/cons of NYU. I know the minor differences in clerkship numbers (as a % of students) between schools in this band, but she was kind of surprised that NYU was behind its peers in clerkship placement. She said the school had great resources and made quite an effort recently to place people.