Pitt or Denver

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Pitt or Denver?

Pitt Law (COA $85,000)
52%
Denver (COA $115,000)
48%

Total votes: 33

Whatever1

Pitt or Denver

Postby Whatever1 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:10 pm

I'd really appreciate some advice on these 2 options:

Denver with $10,000 scholarship (Cost of Attendance for me would be about $115,000)
Pitt with $10,000 scholarship (Cost of Attendance for me would be about $85,000 since I'm confident of getting residency after year 1)

I know alot of people are going to say retake, but I studied really hard for the LSAT and maximized my score at 163 on my second try. I don't believe I could do better. I took every single practice test available, studied 5 or 6 days a week for 4 months and took a Prep Class. My issue was my gpa of 2.7. Obviously this made it hard for me so retaking is not going to help in my case. So please don't say retake.

I visited both schools and liked each, though I liked Denver the city alot more. I'm not from either area, but I have no goals as to where I will live as far as region or city, but as I said I do like Denver more than Pitt. I'm just struggling with the idea of is it worth paying $30K more for Denver just because I liked the city more than Pittsburgh.

BarbellDreams

Re: Pitt or Denver

Postby BarbellDreams » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:15 pm

Full disclosure: I go to Pitt.

I think Pitt easily unless you are really against living in Pittsburgh and absolutely love Denver. Pitt has better placement, is cheaper and has no competition in its own city from a superior school like Denver does with UC.

snapdragon

Postby snapdragon » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:20 pm

BarbellDreams wrote:Full disclosure: I go to Pitt.

I think Pitt easily unless you are really against living in Pittsburgh and absolutely love Denver. Pitt has better placement, is cheaper and has no competition in its own city from a superior school like Denver does with UC.