University of Denver vs. Texas Tech Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
bbbw

New

University of Denver vs. Texas Tech

Post by bbbw » Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:59 pm

I would like to get some opinions regarding which school would be best for me to attend. I've been accepted to both schools for sticker price and I'm a Texas resident. I would prefer to be in Texas after law school but wouldn't have a problem being in Colorado either. Word is that Texas Tech's tuition may be increased to around $22,000 (due to the Texas legislature slashing education funds), which would make total cost about $35,000 per year whereas I was awarded about $55,000 from DU to cover all of my 1st years expenses. I know there's much debate over the rankings, but for what its worth, DU is ranked 77 overall in Tier 2 and Tech is in Tier 3 at 117. There isn't a specific area of law that I am set on pursuing. Any thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated as the deposit deadlines are looming for each school.

BarbellDreams

Gold

Re: University of Denver vs. Texas Tech

Post by BarbellDreams » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:02 pm

What is your total cost of attendance for each school over the three years?

bbbw

New

Post by bbbw » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:04 pm

BarbellDreams wrote:What is your total cost of attendance for each school over the three years?
Texas Tech would be about $95,000-$100,000 and DU would be about $155,000-$160,000.

crit_racer

Silver

Post by crit_racer » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:06 pm

Tech, especially since you want Texas.

YankeesFan

Silver

Post by YankeesFan » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:07 pm

How does DU cost 155,000 if all of your first year expenses were covered. Wouldn't it be closer to 100,000 or less?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

bbbw

New

Post by bbbw » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:13 pm