UIUC ($$$), WUSTL ($$), ND($), BU

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MyManKanye

UIUC ($$$), WUSTL ($$), ND($), BU

Postby MyManKanye » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:28 pm

So my desperate hope is that I somehow get off the WL at Michigan, but in the meantime I'll need to put a deposit in at one of these schools. Tuition costs look something like, note that its just tuition not fees or COL:

UIUC: 8k/ year
WUSTL: 15k/year
ND: 25k/year
BU: 40k/yr (sticker)

I'm an undergrad at UIUC so I know the area. Its not my favorite, but not unlivable. I'm going into IP/patent law for what that's worth. I'm not averse to debt if it has long term upside. My main concern is limiting myself location wise. I'm not averse to any one major market, but I also would prefer not to be pinned down to one either.

From what I understand UIUC/WUSTL/ND are all more or less Chicago feeders and peers. I don't know what if anything has changed since the new rankings came out. BU seems to overperform its ranking, but at sticker I still think it might be too expensive for what it is.

Any input or experience here would be very helpful and appreciated. Thanks.

bk1

Re: UIUC ($$$), WUSTL ($$), ND($), BU

Postby bk1 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:38 pm

I think its a bit foolish to assume that Illinois, WUSTL, and ND are Chicago feeders. I would even hazard that most of the grads from these schools don't actually work in Chicago. While Chicago is their primary biglaw market, I doubt that the majority of the class is in the city itself.

I'd knock ND and BU off the list due to cost and realize that Illinois/WUSTL are going to generally place in the midwest. I feel like WUSTL is the better option here as it opens up another large midwestern city to you (assuming you can prove to them you'd like to stay) and that there may be a bit more mobility at the top of the class for WUSTL grads compared to Illinois grads (but there is a large chance that you don't end up top of the class).