IP/ Patent law @ Chicago Kent w/$$ vs. New Engineering Job

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Chicago-kent vs. New Engineering Job

Chicago-kent with $20k/yr no stipulations
30%
Job at top chemical company that requires driving 100 miles/day
70%

Total votes: 20

Bluben

IP/ Patent law @ Chicago Kent w/$$ vs. New Engineering Job

Postby Bluben » Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:38 pm

Here goes,

I really hate my job right now. Im an engineer, but my job is one that a trained monkey can do. There is no learning or growing going on here and when i asked my manager for training, she responded by saying "this is not college, im not here to teach you what you need to know." Most of what i do is fill out spreadsheets and i see 50 yr olds doing the same thing i am doing. So once i hit the 2 year mark in June I am peacing out. Money factors into my decision because I dont have any big savings, have some loans left over from undergrad, around $20k, and I would expect to make more as a patent lawyer than i am making as an engineer.

Option 1:
Go to Chicago-Kent with $20k/yr scholly, no stipulations. (Tuition = around $40k/yr and living expenses i hear are around $20k/yr)
Pros
-Ive never been to chicago but i imagine i will love it, as i love every large city ive ever been to. Will visit in two weeks.
-I would do patent law, which they have reputation for.
-i can possibly negotiate to $30k scholly against a UNH scholly.
Cons
-I have no clue whatsoever as to how Kent has been placing IP graduates when it comes to patent attorney jobs
-Will a job as a patent lawyer leave me feeling like I'm doing the job of a trained monkey? I do love reading about, and working with, new technology though.

Option 2
Take a job that a friends dad offered me.
Pros:
-Will pay around $85k/yr which is about a $20k/yr pay raise for me.
-Comes with production bonuses, so around $5k/yr
-Includes a pension