Bay Area Law GW, Emory, WUSTL or retake? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
LttleBlakDress

Bronze

Bay Area Law GW, Emory, WUSTL or retake?

Post by LttleBlakDress » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:24 pm

Hey guys,

So I've touched on this in a few other forums but I would love to hear the wisdom of crowds about my situation.

I'm 22, graduated from college in December 2009, and living in the Bay Area. I absolutely 100% want to practice in the Bay Area. I'm very interested in working in Biglaw, although I'm not 100% sure this is how will end up wanting to go. I applied to a bunch of places this year based on ideas like "oh look a fee-waver" or "I heard I can wear lots of sun dresses if I go to school in the south" without thinking too much about the regions the schools feed into.

I'm quite a splitter with a 169 and 3.05 gpa which only counts 2.5 years of school, as I graduated early, and LSAC wouldn't process my two semesters of study abroad grades.

Hastings waitlisted me, which has left me feeling like I don't have any choices that place well into the Bay Area.

I'm on the Vandy waitlist too and I'm riding it out also, because I think it's such a great school that Bay Area firms would still be impressed. Thoughts on this?

Right now these are my choices: WUSTL $25k/yr, GW at Sticker, Emory with 10k/yr, Georgia with 1 semester of tuition equalization, Alabama with 24k/yr if I stay in the top 50% of my class (it's full tuition,) American at sticker or USF at sticker.

I'm an LSAT teacher and I think I could raise my LSAT to at least a 172, maybe higher if I retook, and even if Hastings still won't have me, at least then I'd take a stab at applying to Davis and Santa Clara, which I didn't apply to previously based on their locations. I'm also thinking Georgetown or even UVA and Michigan might give me a shot if I applied ED. Is that reasonable?