GW vs. Hastings

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Jumanji

GW vs. Hastings

Postby Jumanji » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:46 pm

Interested in the general consensus from other soon-to-be or current law students. The dust has not completely settled on the admission cycle, but it looks like the two schools I will really be considering are Hastings and GW. Both schools are sticker, but I'm a CA resident bringing the price of Hastings down. For full disclosure, I'm in a fortunate position where the cost is not my primary concern. So, here are the variables:

-Family and girlfriend are in San Francisco (actually enjoy all of them :) )
-I ultimately want to end up in CA, preferably the Bay Area
-I live in San Francisco and love it here
-I'm interested in international human rights law and it seems like D.C. would really help in that pursuit
-I've always been interested in obtaining a dual JD/MBA, an option that is most likely off the table at Hastings

Any thoughts would be incredibly appreciated. Does GW's access to the D.C. resources outweigh the obvious benefits Hastings provides given my circumstances.

Thanks all.

FuManChusco

Re: GW vs. Hastings

Postby FuManChusco » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:47 pm

You want to be in cali. Go to hastings. Although, sticker might not be the smartest idea.

Also, international human rights law is basically a running joke on TLS and a JD/MBA is virtually useless. Does that make your decision easier?
Last edited by FuManChusco on Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

fatduck

Postby fatduck » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:48 pm

If you want to work in CA, and your gf and family are in CA, I think Hastings is a no-brainer. I would also re-think the necessity of a JD/MBA, in general.

Postby 20160810 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:10 pm

I made a very similar choice (UCD over GW) due to wanting to be in CA. It comes down ENTIRELY to geography.

Jumanji

Postby Jumanji » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:40 pm