Cornell @ 105K COA vs. UT Austin @ 70K COA???

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which should I choose?

Cornell @ 105K
58%
Texas @ 70K
42%

Total votes: 95

Cade McNown

Cornell @ 105K COA vs. UT Austin @ 70K COA???

Postby Cade McNown » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:19 pm

Hi all!, would appreciate some input on this. A little bit of background. I'm a CA male, will be 23 at start of school. I have no strong geographic preferences and am not particularly debt averse (I have Wustl at 20K total for example but won't choose it over these two options). I won't rule out Big Law but really I'd prefer to jump straight into a Mid Law transactional practice (would love to do trusts and estates if I could get it). I am a serious student but ideally would like to still have a life in law school (work hard/play hard??) Would appreciate any input, and please vote in poll.

CanadianWolf

Re: Cornell @ 105K COA vs. UT Austin @ 70K COA???

Postby CanadianWolf » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:22 pm

Where do you want to live ? What type of weather do you prefer ? Which university has the better football team ?

Frankie55

Postby Frankie55 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:23 pm

Cornell is finally offering schollys? Or is your COA cheaper for other reasons?

Cade McNown

Postby Cade McNown » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:26 pm

Frankie55 wrote:Cornell is finally offering schollys? Or is your COA cheaper for other reasons?

This. Half tuition covered for me. 105K is my estimate of full sticker price at Cornell.

Cade McNown

Postby Cade McNown » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:29 pm

CanadianWolf wrote:Where do you want to live ? What type of weather do you prefer ? Which university has the better football team ?

See: "no strong geographic preferences". Prefer perfect weather. Texas better football...but Cornell outlasted them in the NCAA Tourney last year :lol: .

jcunni5

Postby jcunni5 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:32 pm